Through my lens

DEFINITION: 1. An understanding of how aspects of a subject relate to each other and to the whole. 2. The ability to perceive things in their actual interrelations or comparative importance. 3. Subjective eveluation of relative significance; point of view.

As you go through life the lenses you use change according to the different phases you are in. I read a scripture that really resonated with me, 1 Corinthians 13 vs 11 and it reads  “When i was a child, i spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when i grew up, I put away childish things” – NLT version. 

In the last, give or take, 6 months I have been battling with the question “What is my purpose?” What am I here, on earth, to do? Where is life taking me? The first answer that comes to mind is “I am here to serve”. I am here to help people and to shine a light where there seems to be none. I feel if you are not sure of what your purpose is, find something you love and that will surely lead you to what your purpose is.

I had a conversation with a friend of mine who asked me an interesting question, he said, Temmie looking back at your early twenties, what have you achieved that you can proudly say yes I did that? I sat quietly for a good 5minutes trying to think of something profound to say to him, but to no avail, I had nothing. That question was thought provoking, I had never really thought or looked at my earlier life from that perspective. How often do we look back on life and think about how far we have come or what we have accomplished.

As my 25th (shhhhhh) birthday approaches I have realised that my perspective on life has changed quite drastically. I am more aware of what I really want out of life, especially when it comes to relationships, romantic and other wise. I need to be sure that whatever relationship I enter is bringing value to my life, the relationship aids my growth as an individual and in some shape or form I am growing closer to God. I can definitely say that I have grown into my own. I am more sure of myself, I am more confident and  I am my own woman. Part of the reason I decided to actually start this blog was to finally give myself a voice.

As I move into this new phase of my life I’m ready to experience life through my new lens.

