Mixed signalsThis piece was originally written by a good friend of mine, Twist’d Nino, who is an amazing and talented poet. He has a way with words that I feel is just pure genius. When I grow up I want to write just like him. If you’re into poetry, you should check out his blog alustforlovealoveforlust.wordpress.com/author/twistdpieces

He sent me this piece to read and it was written from a man’s perspective. As I was reading the piece, I couldn’t help but think of a response to his words but from a female’s perspective.

Think about it, how many times have we sent each other mixed signals because of our failure to articulate what’s on our mind? Half the time we could be thinking or feeling the same as the next person, but because we do not share our thoughts, all is left to be assumed and that does not always work in our  favour.

Without further or do, here is Mixed Signals

Twisted Nino:

Lusting for women

Who

Wear red lipstick

And 

Sleek with words.

So

My mac game is artistic.

Having

Early morning DMC’s

Wondering

Just what you think of me.

Am

I just your average Joe

Or

Do I make an impression?

Just

Another fellow

With

You for an obsession.

Would

You say I’m worth your time?

Do

You want this moment to last?

Or 

Are you just counting down the seconds

Until 

This moment has passed?

We 

Finally get some time alone.

No

People or cell phones

Just

Chilled vibes and conversation

That 

Only I seem to be making.

All

Through she’s hesitating 

Can’t 

Tell if she’s just not into me

Or

Thinking “when will he get into me?”

Steady

Brushing my thighs

And

Rolling her eyes.

What

Is that supposed to mean?

Somehow

She expects me to know.

Staring

At me with those kiss me eyes

I

Lean in and she acts surprised

…Women…

TemmieThemz:

Lusting for men

Who

Have exotic airs about them

And 

Have a way with words

So

Seductive, I could swear I’m theirs.

Late

Night sexts wondering

Just 

What you think of me.

Am

I  just one of the home girls

Or

Do I make you feel like I am The

One

To settle down with?

Would 

You say I’m worth your time?

Do

You want this moment to last,

Or 

Are you just counting down the seconds

Until

She’s back at your side?

We

Finally get some time alone,

No

Distractions or interruptions

Just

Chemistry and deep attraction 

That

Only I seem to be feeling.

All 

Through he’s hesitating.

Hands

Shaking nervously

Can’t 

Tell if he’s just not into me

Or

Thinking “when will she get into me?”

Little 

Does he know I’m immensely into him.

Teasing

Brushing his knuckles against my inner thighs

And

Staring me dead in the eyes.

What

Is this supposed to mean?

Somehow

He expects me to know.

Gazing

At me with those “I want you now eyes”

He

Leans in and takes me by surprise.

…Men…

