Me today... 25!
Me today… 25!

I’m finally 25!!! I’ve been counting down the days. I’m not really sure why I was looking forward to this particular birthday. Maybe because I finally feel validated as a woman? I’m not quite sure. 25, to me, is when you really become a woman. You have a better sense of who you are and you have more clarity on where you want your life to go, as well as grow into the woman you are meant to be.

As a child, my perception of being 25 was associated with being old. I thought being 25 meant you had 2.5 kids and looked like you had life happen to you. I didn’t want to grow older. I was scared of change. I was terrified of the transition. Most people would say, It is fear of the unknown.

The hardest lesson I’ve learnt is that, change happens when it happens. You’re going to change and transition wherever it happens. Ready or not, change will happen. Celebrate it or not, it will happen. The hardest thing to do and put up with is change. The thing we hate the most is change. We hate it because it takes us out of our element. It takes us out of our comfort zone. It takes us out of the place that we are secure and sure. A place that we have learned how to manage and control everything. You can not control everything when you are in transition. It is what it is and it happens how it happens. You have to come out any way you can.

Take for instance Birth and death, as Bishop T.D. Jakes said, “they are the wonder twins of divinity.” In scope, one is no different from the other. Birth is transportation into the next dimension, but so is death. In reality, God says we should cry when a baby is born and rejoice when they die because God understands that birth and death are labours together with Him to push you from one world to another. To be absent in one world is to be present in another. You can not be here and also be present there. To be absent in the body, is to be present with the Lord. 

Look back on your life, every so often, every so many days or situations or circumstances you find yourself in a world that is too small and limited, and you have to go through a birthing process from one dimension into the next dimension. You out grow the parameters you live in. You find restriction in the place you once found nurturing and nourishing. You are imprisoned by the narrow thinking circumstances. You’re uncomfortable in what you were once comfortable in. When you are in transition, you yourself don’t even understand what is going on. Some people may start to think that you are acting funny or strange. They may say things like “you forgot where you came from”. I say, I didn’t forget, I just cant stay in this situation anymore. Even if I have to fight my way out. I have out grown it, I have out thought it and outlived it. I have realised that this world is not THEE world, it is only A world.

Think of life as the physics of the quest: a force in nature governed by laws as real as the laws of gravity.

The rule of quest physics goes like this, “If you’re brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting which can be anything, from your house to bitter old resentments, and set out on a truth seeking journey either externally or internally and if you’re truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue. And if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared most of all to face and forgive the most difficult realities about yourself,  then the truth will not be withheld from you.” Elizabeth Gilbert – Eat Pray Love. I can’t help but believe it, given my experience. Think of Ruin as a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation. We must always be prepared for endless waves of transformation.

I am in Transition… From a girl into a woman.

